Hockey (Boys)

Varsity, Junior Varsity / Boys

Program Overview

Redhawks Boys Hockey Teams play in the very competitve Independent Metro Athletic Conference (Blake, Breck, Mounds Park Academy, Providence Academy, and St. Paul Academy and Summit School) and in Section 4A. The Redhawks are a co-op team that has athletes from Minnehaha Academy, DeLaSalle High School, Gentry Academy, St. Croix Lutheran High School, St. Agnes High School, and Lake View Home School. The Varsity and JV teams play 25 regular season games, including the Schwan’s Holiday Tournament. The Schwan’s Holiday Tournament is the largest high school hockey tournament in the country and is held each year in Blaine, MN between Christmas day and New Year’s day.

Head Coach Josh Hoekstra began coaching the Redhawks in 2017. Josh Hoekstra is a 1991 grad and played his High School hockey at Edina where he served as the Captain of Willard Ikola’s 32nd and final season of a Hall of Fame coaching Career.  Hoekstra played Division I college hockey at Colorado College. Assistant Coach Ed Aguirre is a long time High School assistant and varsity hockey coach in Minnesota.  His wealth of experience and knowledge is an incredible benefit to our defensive corp and our program!  Steve Wendorf is helping with the forwards and brings a successful coaching and playing background with him.  Wendorf is a 1986 grad of Apple Valley High School.  Steve played 4 years of Division I college hockey at Michigan Tech. Goalie Coach Patrick Hellier, who won a State Championship at Eden Prairie and brings his knowledge and experience as our goalie coach.  The program is blessed to have a great group of men leading a fantastic group of kids.

Middle School

Minnehaha Academy offers middle school co-ed hockey teams when participation numbers allow it.

Captains Practices

Captain's practices begin 30 days prior to the start of the season. Off season activities may include on and off ice clinics during June and July.


Tryouts occur the first week of the season.

Game Locations

Home games are played at our South Campus Arena.


Season: November (2nd Monday) – March (2nd week)
View Calendar

Coaching Staff

Josh Hoekstra, Varsity Head Coach
Phone: 952-200-1934

Ed Aguirre, Assistant Coach

Steve Wendorf, Varsity Assistant Coach

Patrick Hellier, JV Assistant Coach

Robin Moore, Varsity Assistant Coach

Tyler King, JV Assistant Coach

Trophy Case

Team Trophies & Awards

2012. Redhawk Holiday Hockey Classic, Runner-Up

2011. Waseca Holiday Tournament, Runner-Up

2010. Schwan’s Cup Holiday Tournament, Runner Up, Open Division

2004. Section 3A Academic Champions

2003. Owatonna Tournament Champions

2002. Section 4A Academic Champions

2001. Section 4A Academic Champions

1993. Tri-Metro Conference Champions

1993. Chisago Lakes Holiday Tournament Champions

Individual Trophies & Awards

2013. Ryan Leo, Section 2AA/A Great 8 Selection

2012. Michael Fabie, Pioneer Press All-State Honorable Mention Team

2007. Sam Blaisdell, KARE 11 Athlete of the Week, December

1993. CJ Buzzell, AP All-State, Maroon/Gold Selection, #1 Overall Draft Pick by USHL’s Wisconsin Capitals

Pin It on Pinterest